15 September 2022


Notice of Annual General Meeting

The last two years of pandemic-related disruption has prevented TVLS from holding its Annual General Meeting. We attempted to do so remotely in October 2020, but unfortunately the meeting was not quorate and could not go ahead.

With the situation rolling-on into 2021, it was agreed by TVLS Council that the Annual General Meeting could still not be held.

We are therefore pleased to be able to notify you that Tees Valley Law Society’s next Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday 15 September, starting at 5.30pm. The meeting will be held at the offices of BHP Law, Faverdale, Darlington, and online. An agenda for the meeting can be downloaded here.

Am I a member of TVLS?

The pandemic prevented the Society from holding any seminars or events, and put a stop to the other events and functions that the Society would attend regularly when representing legal professionals from our region. As a result of this, TVLS Council agreed not to levy any membership subscription fees, and to extend the memberships of all current members. This "rolling-over" has continued into 2022.

In short, if you were a member in 2019, we still consider you a member at present.

Officer Roles

The Society has three officer roles that are elected at each Annual General Meeting. These are President, Senior Vice President and Junior Vice President. If you or a colleague would like to get involved with the Society at a deeper level, representing your profession and region at national events and formal ceremonies, then please consider standing for election to one of these roles.

Council Seats

Under the rules of the Society, TVLS Council Members are elected at AGM for a three year term. As a result, we will be holding elections at the 2022 AGM for all Council Seats…:

  • 6x General Members of Council
  • Member for the Borough of Darlington and the area bounded by and including the towns of Northallerton, Richmond, Leyburn and Hawes.
  • Member for the Borough of Hartlepool and the town of Peterlee
  • Member for the Borough of Middlesbrough and the towns of Great Ayton and Stokesley
  • Member for the Borough of Redcar and Cleveland and the town of Whitby
  • Member for the Borough of Stockton-on-Tees
  • Member for those parts of County Durham falling with the Society’s area, excluding the Borough of Darlington


Any member of the Society can be nominated (or can nominate themselves) for election as an Officer or member of TVLS Council. Nomination forms are available here.

The Society can only operate with the support and dedication of its members, so please do consider whether you or a colleague may be able to get involved. Please get in touch if you would like more information on becoming a TVLS Officer or Council Member.


Members should contact us to advise on their attendance, and whether they will be attending in person or remotely. Login details for online access will be forwarded to those who require it.

AGM Papers