

Office 12 Moor Chambers 26 Front Street Framwellgate Moor Durham DH1 5EJ

Tel: 07762 307515 Email: admin@tvls.org.uk Web: www.tvls.org.uk

Minutes of the meeting of the AGM of TVLS held on 21 June 2018 5.30pm at Archers Law, Lakeside House, Stockton on Tees

**Present:** Nicola Neilson, Chris Noon, Dermot Winters, Michelle Coulson, Rebecca Maddock,

Mary Foster, Alan Devine, Jeremy Spooner, Martin Hobson (Clive Owen), Rob Steer,

Khudeza Miam

**Apologies:** Nikita Noel, Brian Wake, Simon Wake, Ursula Collie, Hilton Armstrong, Claire Quinn,

Jo Wharton, Michael McGarry, Kate Wigham, Irene Cox, Paula Warburton, Patrick

Saunders

In attendance:

Stephen Witherspoon

Observer: Absent:

		Action
1.	Welcome:	
	Meeting opened and quorum confirmed	
2.	Minutes of the meeting on 28 June 2017	
	The minutes were signed as a correct record of the meeting.	
3.	Presidents Annual Review	
	Annual Review 2018 pamphlet and Education and Training Annual Report 2017-2018 were provided to all attendees.	
	DW confirmed that it had been a great year and thanked everyone for their support.	
	DW explained that when he had taken on the role of President, membership was	
	declining and the finances were not in a good state. He had implemented a 3 year	
	plan for TVLS. DW described the following achievements:	
	<ul> <li>A x3 increase in the applications for membership</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>An increase in the seminars/events organised by TVLS</li> </ul>	
	DW acknowledged that the finances were still in deficit but he had worked hard to	
	obtain a surplus.	
	<ul> <li>A very successful dinner had been organised by NN with additional sponsorship this year achieved.</li> </ul>	
	DW had pushed for TVLS to become involved in two local universities. Durham	
	University did not offer a warm reception, but Teesside had been very much	
	interested and ties with Teesside had strengthened. 2 Faculty Members (Michelle	
	Gallagher and Ben Middleton) have been nominated for Council and wish to sit as University representatives on Council.	

4	DW is happy to hand over the role of President so that the incoming President may continue to build upon the work achieved in this last year and the relationships established.  Presentation by President to Solicitors with 40+ years post qualification  Jeremy Spooner
	Apologies John Pratt (had hoped to attend but illness prevented this) Hilary Monckton-Milnes Paul Martin David French
5.	Approval of Accounts for the cociety 2016
5.	Approval of Accounts for the society 2016 Clive Owen report presented by Martin Hobson. The accounts were approved.
6.	Presentation by Allan Devine – National Law Society Representative  AD thanked DW for ensuring that TVLS was active in the joint northern law society meetings (NEJC). He thanked the LS relationship managers for their support of local law societies.  AD updated on changes at national level. The new Committee chaired by Robert Bournes should cut down on bureaucracy by being a direct line to Council from the Board. The new CEO Paul Tennant (who has been acting interim for the last 9 months) is efficient and approachable.  There is an proposed intention that the Law Society will cut running costs drastically over the next few years and increase transparency and communication with members.  AD noted trends identified by the Law Society with increases in women and BAME practitioners. The North East now have 2% of all practicing certificates in the county. The North East needs to have a voice and the LS must continue to communicate with solicitors on the ground.
7.	Election of Members for Council 2018/2019
	Those confirmed in position are: The President- Chris Noon The Senior Vice President- Dermot Winters (on an interim basis) The Junior Vice President- Nikita Noel  There are vacancies for the following areas: The Borough of Redcar & Cleveland & the town of Whitby
	Constituency Member for Hartlepool and Peterlee Constituency Member for Stockton on Tees General Members

	l de la companya de
	Confirmed to continue in the following positions
	Council Members:
	Constituency Member for Borough of Darlington (including Northallerton, Richmond, Leyburn and Hawes)- Nicola Neilson
	Constituency Member for County Durham (excluding Darlington) – Chris Noon
	The Borough of Middlesbrough and the towns of Great Ayton & Stokesley – Jonathan Woodhouse
	General Members
	General Member – Michelle Coulson
	General Member – Rachel Hart
	Trainee Representative – Adeel Bashir
	Co-opted Council membership approved:
	Rachel Hart
8.	Appointment of Auditors
	Clive Owen were confirmed
9.	Matters arising on the minutes, not elsewhere on the Agenda  DW raised concern over the failure of some Council Members to regularly attend
	meetings and proposed that members should be removed where they fail to attend
	more than 3 meetings in a year and do not explain their absence.
10.	Any other business at the discretion of the President.
	CN thanked DW for his work as President over the last 12 months and presented with
	a bottle of wine in recognition of his contribution.